About the NCIDQ Exam

Who administers the NCIDQ Exam?

The NCIDQ exam is administered by the Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) - the certifying organization for interior design professionals. 

What is the NCIDQ exam structure?

The NCIDQ exam is divided into three sections: the Interior Design Fundamentals Exam (IDFX), the Interior Design Professional Exam (IDPX), and the Interior Design Practicum (PRAC 2), which are all administered by computer and machine graded. All three exams are available to take throughout the entire months of April and October. Learn more about each exam here:



PRAC 2.0

What are the current NCIDQ pass rates?

IDFX - 66%

IDPX - 57%

Practicum - 66%

How do I start preparing for the exam?

If you’re ready to start preparing for your NCIDQ exam, start by selecting review material and setting time aside for studying. Looking for more information? Learn more about the NCIDQ exam in our NCIDQ Resource Center.